Blackjack Quesadillas

4 Aug

My cousin and his girlfriend came out for a short visit last month.  Both are bloggers and love to cook.  In fact, Terumi is a food blogger!  We ran around town visiting some of my favorite haunts like the Santa Fe Farmers Market, The Shed Restaurant on the Plaza, hamburgers at Bobcat Bite and an awesome firework show in Albuquerque.  One night they decided to cook.  The recipe that was the lucky winner: Blackjack Quesadillas!

Since I’m more of a bystander when it comes to cookin’ I decided to break out the video camera.  It was hours of slicing, dicing, marinating, roasting and frying.

Everyone was taking pictures of the food being prepared for their blogs.  It was the most documented meal in history!

Mid-way through the process I decided that margaritas were in order (I’m great at accessorizing).  Terumi, H.H. and I packed into the car and went off to the store.  As we marched in I noticed what great purses we all had and wished we had someone to take our picture (yes, I did have my camera with me :) ).  Thank god I live in a small town with an even smaller community because sure enough I ran into my good friend Noelle and her daughter.  After taking a few shots of us they joined us back at the house.

(Rt-Left) Me, H.H. and Terumi at the grocery store. Thanks Noelle ;)

The sun went down and the cool air came in.  We all sat back eating and drinking while being entertained by Noelle’s 7 year old daughter.  She was so excited to stay up late she figured it was the least she could do!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Go check out Corey and Terumi’s blogs.  Yes, her’s is in Japanese but that’s what the translate button is all about on Google Chrome, people! .

Update:  Corey has a post more on our black jack quesidilla night which includes the history of the recipe and more photos!

And just in case you want to make your own black jack quesadillas here’s the recipe:  (some of these quantities seemed totally wacky so my notes are in parenthesis -Michael)

INGREDIENTS

Spicy Pork:
1 quart Korean chili paste       (1 cup – I used Siracha garlic chili paste)
3 jalapeños, stemmed
1 cup sugar                                     (1/2 cup)
1 cup garlic cloves                       (1 head)
1 pint soy sauce                             (1 cup)
1 cup chopped green onions
½ cup sesame oil                          (1/4 cup)
1 cup orange juice                         (1/2 cup)
1 can Sprite soda                           (1/2 can)
2 pounds pork belly, sliced      (found this at a Mexican grocery/butcher)
4 cups diced onions

Salsa Verde:
1 quart canola oil                         (1 1/2 cup)
1 clove garlic, peeled
5 jalapeños, stemmed
¼ onion, peeled
10 bunches fresh cilantro, chopped   (1 1/2 bunches)
Salt
1¼ cup lime juice
1¼ cup orange juice
¼ cup roasted sesame seeds

To Assemble and Serve:
½ cup canola oil
4 12-inch flour tortillas
4 cups shredded Cheddar-Jack cheese
4 teaspoons roasted sesame seeds
12 sprigs fresh cilantro

METHOD

For the Spicy Pork:
Puree all the ingredients except the pork belly and onions. Marinate the pork belly in this mixture for at least 2 hours. Cook the onions and marinated pork belly on a hot plancha or griddle until slightly charred, about 8 minutes. Chop the pork into bite-sized pieces.   (I cooked the onion in a pan w/ some marinade til soft and barbecued the pork.  I diced the pork after it was cooked.)

For the Salsa Verde:
Stir oil and garlic in a pot on low heat until the garlic browns. Roast the jalapeños and onion in a dry pan until almost black. Cool the garlic, oil, onions and jalapeños, then puree with the cilantro, salt, juices, and sesame seeds. Reserve.

To Assemble and Serve:
Pour 2 tablespoons of oil on a griddle and place a tortilla flat on top of it and add 1 cup of cheese on half of the tortilla. Add the spicy pork (and onions) on top of the cheese and fold over, cooking until the cheese has melted. Cut the quesadillas into four triangles and top with 2 tablespoons of salsa verde and 1 teaspoon of sesame seeds. Garnish with 3 sprigs of cilantro.

If you like what you see here, subscribe to my RSS feed and check out my fan page on Facebook.  Follow me as I make my way through daily life attempting to live frugally and simply!

You can also email me your feedback & ideas.

I love to hear about new books, chocolate chip cookie recipes and blogs I should check out!

mollyonmoney@gmail.com

18 Responses to “Blackjack Quesadillas”

  1. First Gen American August 4, 2011 at 9:01 am #

    Um..can I come over for dinner? Pretty please with a cherry on top? Okay, I live across the country, but it still seems to nice.

    I love the little slide shows you put in posts. They are so neat.

    • Molly On Money August 5, 2011 at 6:28 am #

      Oh, I wish!
      I love wordpress for making things like the slideshow so easy!

  2. thejoyofcaking August 4, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    Ahh, another foodie. Girl after my own heart. The quesadillas sound delicious!

    • Molly On Money August 5, 2011 at 6:27 am #

      It was so good. We had extra salsa verde to dip into for the rest of the week.

  3. Michael's mom August 4, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    Wow, such a mouthwatering feast! And I love the impromptu Women with Handbags opener.

    • Molly On Money August 4, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

      I had gotten my chicken purse (at the Farmers market, of course) earlier in the day and was feeling very inspired!

  4. Jeff @ Sustainable Life Blog August 4, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    Those quesadillias look great – I dont know if I’ll be able to get my hands on a pork belly where I live, but I may be able to find one when I’m in denver.

    • Molly On Money August 4, 2011 at 6:19 pm #

      A specialty or ethnic butcher should have pork belly. Where we are you can’t get it at the big commercial type of grocery stores.

  5. Niki August 4, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    Oh that sounds so good. I am probably going to make this.

    Yes, love the Google Chrome translate button.

    • Molly On Money August 4, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

      My youngest uses it to talk to her relatives on facebook!

  6. 101 Centavos August 5, 2011 at 4:10 am #

    Looks incredibly good and tasty. Hours spent slicing and dicing is not really work when in the company of friends and generous libations. Salud!

  7. Practical Parsimony August 5, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

    Oh, I did not notice you had a chicken purse. How cute!

  8. Natalie August 6, 2011 at 6:24 am #

    I think Michael’s the foodie and Molly is the cheerleader. I MUST see that chicken purse.;-)

    • Molly On Money August 6, 2011 at 7:24 am #

      You want to hold my chicken purse, don’t you?! :shock:

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Heating Up The Garden and Random Links | 101 Centavos - August 6, 2011

    [...] on Money has a two-fer this week:  a great pictorial on making Blackjack Quesadillas, and kale chips (“Krispy Kale”).  We made kale chips a few days ago, and they are simply [...]

  2. Blackjack quesadilla « Best Leave It Unsolved - August 10, 2011

    [...] my cousin Molly posted a blog (she’s much better than the Pioneer Woman) about a dinner we made at their place in Santa [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

