Krispy Kale

30 Jul

This Spring Michael more than tripled the size of our vegetable garden.  The idea behind this expansion is that we want to eat more from our garden and less from the grocery store.  Last Spring we cut our spending on groceries by almost 1/2.  Last year at this time we went an entire month without going to the grocery store.  It was challenging but expanding our garden makes it possible.

One ‘problem’ I’m finding is what do I do when a veggie comes into harvest.  I blanch many of the greens and freeze them for winter; we eat tons of salad and when I go to a friend’s home I typically have an armful of veggies to hand out.  This past Monday I cut back a bunch of the kale, and I wanted to find something different to do with it.

Kale Chips

Salty Kale Chips

My friend Allesandra brought these crispy babies to dinner one night.  I lorded over the bowl and chowed them down as fast as I could.  Since than I’ve been waiting to make my own.

2.75lbs of Kale

cut the center vein out of each leaf and then cut into small 'chip' size pieces

In a bowl I mixed the kale with a couple of tablespoons of olive oil and a bit of gray salt

Thanks to a gift from Allesandra we have many salts to choose from. I went with a gray salt. You can also add garlic salt, paprika or any other spice that you thinks sounds appetizing.

Lay the kale flat on a cookie sheet. I like to put it on parchment so it doesn't stick so much. Cook at 350 degrees for about 15 mins.

Delicious!

I’m not a girl big into substituting healthy food for crappy (I’d rather just skip it) but this one has replaced the chips and crackers I typically nosh on.  And…it’s so CHEAP!

If you like what you see here, subscribe to my RSS feed and check out my fan page on Facebook.  Follow me as I make my way through daily life attempting to live frugally and simply!

You can also email me your feedback & ideas.

I love to hear about new books, chocolate chip cookie recipes and blogs I should check out!

mollyonmoney@gmail.com

25 Responses to “Krispy Kale”

  1. growingmygirls July 30, 2011 at 7:58 am #

    Thanks Molly!! I’ve been wanting to try this with my kale and had been given some casual suggestions. Even thought it’s not hard, I’m glad for the directions and the photos — I can be feeble-minded in the kitchen and this will help. ;-) Do you think we have to use that special salt (we don’t have any) and do you think this would work for other firm greens?

    • Molly On Money July 30, 2011 at 10:05 am #

      This is so easy! Use what ever salt you have in your cupboard. If I didn’t have fancy salt I would have used sea salt. In fact the gray salt is a bit strong. Last night I made a batch of swiss chard (inspired by my friend Terumi) and they are very tasty.

  2. 101 Centavos July 30, 2011 at 8:47 am #

    Beautiful stuff, Molly. We have tons and tons of red kale. I’m going to try it this weekend. I love the how-to pictorial.

    • Molly On Money July 30, 2011 at 10:06 am #

      Try some different spices and let me know how it turns out! Please….

      • 101 Centavos July 31, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

        Forgot to ask – what kind of kale is that in the picture?

      • Molly On Money July 31, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

        Red Kale

      • 101 Centavos July 31, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

        OK, made some.. the universal verdict is that these kale chips are about seven different kinds of awesome.
        Olive oil, regular sea salt, and Lebanese Zataar.
        Off to make a second batch, the first bowl disappeared faster than you can say “Dependence Sucks Ass”

      • Molly On Money July 31, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

        I want to try a spice mix like the Lebanese Zataar. We harvested more kale today and I had to remember to hold some back to make more chips- I’ve made 3 batches and they are all gone!
        (And you made Michael laugh :lol: )

  3. First Gen American July 30, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    Yum, looks delicious. We don’t have kale in our yard. Must grow it next year but we have loads of lettuces.

    The step by step instructions are great. It’s good to have a point of reference to know “did I do it right?”

    • Molly On Money July 30, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

      If you have the time and/or space you could start some now. They will be ready to harvest just as Fall approaches.

  4. Practical Parsimony July 30, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    Did you say to chop the central stem? Or, the leaves? What do you do with the central stem? A friend who hear me say I did not particularly like salt and had nothing but my pound box of Morton’s, gave me six salts for my birthday. That was three years ago. I just gave away all sea salt, gray salt, all of it.

    • Molly On Money July 30, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

      Cut the center stem out. I then stack the leaves on top of each other and chop them into pieces that are about 3″x3″. That size seems to be reasonable to pick up and eat.
      I had never tasted different salts until this year. I really love all the different choices but I grew up with no salt on the dinner table. I’m sure it’s my own way of rebelling!

  5. Terumi July 30, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

    I made swiss chard chips last week! I want to try kale chip this week ;)

    • Molly On Money July 30, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

      I LOVE the swiss chard chips- you were my total inspiration for doing those :)

  6. Natalie July 30, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    YUM! Maybe Chris will be inspired and I’ll have some soon…

    • Molly On Money July 30, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

      This is one snack so up your alley. You’re going to love them!

  7. Niki July 30, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

    Why didn’t I grow kale? I am going to change that soon.

    Looks yummy

  8. sharon frey prewitt July 30, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    Will try it tomorrow night with my late 60 and early 70 blessing group. I will use Swiss Chard instead . Let you know how it turns out.

    • Molly On Money July 30, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

      I give it a thumbs up. Michael prefers the kale chips.

  9. Nino July 30, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    Wow! Sounds good–I may have to break down and try this!

  10. nicoleandmaggie July 31, 2011 at 5:29 am #

    People keep telling us to do this, but our CSA never brings enough kale!

  11. MutantSupermodel August 3, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

    I don’t think I’ve ever knowingly eaten kale. You make healthy stuff look good.

    BTW I tagged you in a meme thingy. :D

    • Molly On Money August 4, 2011 at 6:45 am #

      Meme who-haw?
      I’ll post my other most favorite kale recipe soon- a chopped kale salad. It’s very yummy!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Roundup of Random Links | 101 Centavos - July 30, 2011

    […] on Money brings you…. Krispy Kale.  A post on a dead easy way to make kale chips, with […]

  2. Heating Up The Garden and Random Links | 101 Centavos - August 6, 2011

    […] has a two-fer this week:  a great pictorial on making Blackjack Quesadillas, and kale chips (“Krispy Kale”).  We made kale chips a few days ago, and they are simply freakin’ […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

