Dependence Sucks Ass….

24 Jul

I’m in a trap…the trap is  called technology dependence.  I’m sure you’ve experienced a  trap of technology.  Please say ya’ have….I can’t be alone on this one!

My budgeting software, Quicken, has a corrupt file and it’s not a quick fix.  I’ve spent the last month troubleshooting and procrastinating.  Today (which is the next to the last day of my vacation) I’ve sat my ass down to try to figure out the problem.   I’m on my 3rd tech support person (Hey, I never claimed I’m easy to deal with).   God, it sucks.  Sure I could go back to my Excel spreadsheet or do it by hand but I DON’T WANT TOO!  I’ve been spoiled and I don’t want to go back!

My other dependence I’m dealing with today is not having my editor Michael around.  He’s off at his cousin’s farm in Maine getting advice on how to process poultry in  a more efficient manner.  The only other time I posted something without having him do a quick look at it, he made me promise never to do it again (really, it wasn’t that bad)…The hell with it- I’m posting! (please make your corrections in the comments, much appreciated).

If you like what you see here, subscribe to my RSS feed and check out my fan page on Facebook.  Follow me as I make my way through daily life attempting to live frugally and simply!

You can also email me your feedback & ideas.

I love to hear about new books, chocolate chip cookie recipes and blogs I should check out!

mollyonmoney@gmail.com

20 Responses to “Dependence Sucks Ass….”

  1. growingmygirls July 24, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    Oh, I SO understand. I so very hate doing the numbers, but then, add to it a technical malfunction! My brain seizes up and resentment grows like weeds in my throat. I feel for you….

  2. Practical Parsimony July 24, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    I have a dependence on technology, also. I must have the internet. That is so sad. It appears you did not need help with editing today. You left off three commas and an apostrophe.But, it is perfectly readable, not requiring work on the part of your audience. You did very well! I only looked as I read quickly, but it was perfectly understandable, no major errors at all. Maybe you are a better writer than you think? I am an English major, editor, teacher, and I make more errors than that some days in a shorter passage. But, I hate to edit my comments. There may be more errors, but I am not going to look for them, just because. You should be very proud of yourself.

    • Molly On Money July 25, 2011 at 10:32 am #

      Great! It seemed readable to me but I always understand what I’m trying to say ;)
      I can’t find where I left off the apostrophe! I stink at the comma thing- Michael and I are always disagreeing where the commas should go. My friend gave me some books on tape on grammar usage. I need to pull it out and start listening.

  3. MutantSupermodel July 25, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    I’ve sat my ass down to try to figure it out the problem. *Take out “it”
    He’s off at his cousins farm in Maine *cousin’s or cousins’ if it’s a bunch of them
    in a more efficient manner *I believe you have too many spaces between “in” and “a”
    without having him do a quick look at he made * look at it,
    (really, it wasn’t that bad)…..The hell *Only three periods needed for an ellipse
    I’m posting! (please make your corrections in the comments, much appreciated.) *The parentheses should go inside of the exclamation point and doesn’t need its own period.

    Hey, you asked and I’m a Grammar nerd.

    Also, it looks like you have too many spaces between sentences. Are you double-spacing between your sentences? Tsk, tsk, that’s so 20th century!

    • Molly On Money July 25, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

      It makes so much sense now! I’m always wondering how you knock out fully edited and totally polished posts so fast! My daughter did inform me about the double-spacing thing. I can’t stop…I love the way it looks. What kind of nerd does that make me? :?

      • MutantSupermodel July 26, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

        That’s the NICEST way of calling me an uptight perfectionist I’ve ever read. =P I never offer corrections unless they’re requested, though. Unless you’re one of my close friends and I know it’s going to irk you and I’m in the mood to do so.

        Double-spacing between sentences would probably land you in the Typewriter Nerd category.

      • Molly On Money July 26, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

        Hey, I have a way with words! :lol:

      • Lindy Mint July 26, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

        I can’t get over the two space rule either. It just looks so much better! I find I do it half and half now. I don’t know if that’s better or worse.

        You did a great job without your editor.

        We are dependent on the internet for most of our entertainment. I think we might start eating each other if it ever goes out for a long time.

      • Molly On Money July 26, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

        You are so right about the internet! I’m so peeved right now because Netflix upped there fees. In response we’re going to cancel our subscription. I don’t know what I’m going to do if I can’t watch hours and hours of Horders….

  4. Jeff @ Sustainable Life Blog July 25, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    I know what you mean with this stuff – I have an excel file that I use monthly, but without that, I’d have absolutely nothing for finances. I’ve got it backed up in a few places, but If it goes down i’m toast.

  5. Practical Parsimony July 25, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    Where the three commas go:
    hand, but
    spoiled, but

    cousin’s (apostrophe) unless he has more than one cousin there, then it is cousins’
    look, he (leave out at)

    That is all I found. Oh, you did need to leave out ‘it.’ However, I would not want anyone going over any post or response of mine with a fine-tooth comb. Some days, I am appalled at what I write, errors, I mean. Errors are not forgiveable, not condoned. But, I try not to notice those things unless it is a big screaming mess or I disagree with the author. That’s all for me.

    As for the ellipses, you actually did not use an ellipse. That is for information left out, text left out. The ….. seems to be just a convention we on the internet use for a pause in thought, not really a correct form of anything. In an English paper, the prof would not approve of any ellipse like we use. Just is.

    As for where the punctuation goes when using a parentheses, it all depends. There are rules, but yours seems just fine as written.

  6. Practical Parsimony July 25, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    Aaack, when I tried to go back and add a sentence, the screen was jumping, so I just quit. I could not even go back or forth in my response because the jumping giving me a huge headache, and I never get headaches! If you want to write better, try getting the Little, Brown Handbook. No, it is not brown. Make sure you get the current edition or no further back than two editions. The more current editions have no basic grammar changes. They deal more with the internet and using citations from the internet. I hope Michael and his mother commend you on your progress. Now, there were a few things that could be different, but as it stood, I would have given you a B+. Spacing and things like that are common mistakes from us all and really no big deal. However, I reread posts from months ago that I wrote and am horrified. I mostly write lying down and holding the computer with forearms, so I should not complain about a few comma erroes elsewhere.

    • Molly On Money July 25, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

      I’m going to check out the handbook. Sorry I gave you a headache! Watch out I may want to make you my new editor- you’re very good at it!

  7. Practical Parsimony July 25, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

    And, I misspelled ‘errors’ because the screen was jumping every time that I hit a key. Grrrrr

  8. 101 Centavos July 25, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    Never correct a lady on her grammar.

    I understand about technology dependence. I’m too much of an Excel nerd to move to Quicken.

  9. Everyday Tips July 26, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    I much prefer math to english, so I am the last to check anyone’s grammar.

    I still use Excel myself, but if I lost even that file, I would go insane. I love my technology more and more everyday!

  10. CHET August 3, 2011 at 2:10 am #

    YOUR NOT ALONE MOLLY!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

