Summertime Garden

18 Jul

101 Centavos recently had a great post with other blogger’s gardens.  I love perusing the backyards of others to see what they have growing.

Michael has outdone himself this year expanding our vegetable garden but the weather has not been co-operating.  It’s the driest it’s been in over 100 years and the winds were fierce and long this spring.  Even with all of this we have more growing than any other year.  Every morning we walk around with a cup of coffee in hand and look at what’s coming up, what’s not, plan for what to plant next and when should we harvest.  It’s a lovely way to start the day.

French Breakfast radishes

We’re still getting radishes although they are so hot I can barely eat a whole one.

Turnips larger than my fist

Last year we tried turnips and got small spindly things.  We got more out of the green tops than the root!  This year we are having success.  Later I will post a recipe for one of my favorite soups- Potato Turnip soup (the only reason I plant turnips is to make this soup!).

Wildflowers after a little rain

Finally we’ve gotten some rain and the wildflowers are popping out.  This flax is one of my favorites.  It typically shows up in June and the bright blue is gorgeous coming out as one of the first spurts of summer color.

We used to grow everything in the side garden.  For the last two years the tomatoes we grew here got some sort of fungus.  We are trying other things now that Michael expanded our growing area.  This year we are making it the corn, potato and squash garden.  The corn is doing good.  This is another first for us.  I grew it years ago (before I knew Michael) and it was really spotty- the corn, that is.

Corn- 'knee-high by 4th of July'

For perspective here's a our cat, Buji, next to the corn

Lesson 1: veggies like humidity

This is a garden bed Michael kept covered in plastic up until a week ago.  Compared the beds that were open this one went gang-busters.  The long term plan is to glass it in.


16 Responses to “Summertime Garden”

  1. Niki July 18, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    It all looks so beautiful. Your vegetable garden is so organized. My squash plant is a monster and is constantly getting on top of my other veggies. I cut it back a lot, but I think that just makes it grow more. I have so much squash, but I am having fun getting rid of it. All kinds of new recipes.

    • Molly On Money July 18, 2011 at 11:27 am #

      Thanks Niki! It’s organized for now but once things outgrow their little squares it will be a muddle of veggies! Next week I’ll post some of my favorite garden recipes. Zucchini patties are a favorite and you can freeze them!

  2. Cynthia July 18, 2011 at 11:22 am #

    Lovely and impressive! I’ve finally got a little cabbage and kale going but the greens I really love like chard and spinach are just not happy this year and I don’t have time to make them happy! Oh well, next year, I’ll dream about that morning ramble with the cup of coffee and the delicious recipes I’ll try.

    • Molly On Money July 18, 2011 at 11:29 am #

      We had good luck with the spinach, chard and kale that I wintered over. The ones that were not covered with glass or plastic did not make it. As you know this was an unusual year.

  3. First Gen American July 18, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    Ha..I just popped over babcis and got some lettuce, basil and HA Radishes. My mouth is still burning from them. I never ever ate them til last year when a friend had them in her garden and told me how super easy and fast they grow. I’ve been hooked ever since. I wonder if they have a milder variety. The burn is kinda good but my kids won’t touch them. The youngest always thinks they’re sweet because they are pink.

    I love seeing your garden pictures. Thanks for posting and sharing.

    • Molly On Money July 18, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

      I didn’t eat radishes until a few years ago either. Several varieties are mild but get spicy if grown in the heat of the summer. Why? I don’t know!
      We’ll plant another crop in early fall and test how far out we can go in the season.

  4. MutantSupermodel July 18, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

    Aw what a lovely garden. All of you blog people are making me not so scared of plant thingies.

    • Molly On Money July 18, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

      Start small and you will be just fine! My sister-in-law, Heidi, grows everything in pots. She’s got peppers, eggplant, greens, basil….a little bit of everything!

  5. thejoyofcaking July 18, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

    Great pics Molly! I envy your garden. We didn’t get around to putting ours in this summer -except for a few brussle spout plants that don’t seem to be doing so great. Our beloved chickens have helped themselves to all of the berries I have planted and my grapes. I’m not a happy girl….

    • Molly On Money July 18, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

      I want so badly to do berries but they are really difficult in this climate. If my chickens took out my berries I would be heartbroken :(

  6. sharon frey prewitt July 18, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    I wish my garden looked that good. In Albuq. we have not only wind and drought, but heat. Not good.

  7. 101 Centavos July 19, 2011 at 5:38 am #

    WOW! LOVE the pictures, and how neat the beds look. Your nasturtium looks nice and happy, while mine has burned up already. Even though I had maybe eight or nine of them scattered around, I didn’t get but one or two flowers. Fortunately, the leaves taste just as good as the flowers.

    • Molly On Money July 19, 2011 at 7:40 am #

      The nasturtiums that were in the hoop house got huge compared to the ones I planted out in front. I started about 20 seeds indoors and got only 1 that grew! My friend Juliette just told me you could eat the leaves….she says they are a bit bitter.

  8. nicoleandmaggie July 19, 2011 at 5:43 am #

    Wow!

  9. Natalie July 20, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

    Hey, good job guys! The garden is looking really great!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

